*Magistrates* (R.S.O. 1937, c. 133).—Magistrates are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. They have limited civil and criminal jurisdiction and are ex officio justices of the peace.

Justices of the Peace (R.S.O. 1937, c. 132).—Justices of the peace are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. They have limited civil and criminal jurisdiction.

Manitoba.—Court of Appeal (R.S.M. 1940, c. 40).—The Court of Appeal consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of Manitoba, and four other judges. All judges are appointed by the Governor General. The Court has general appellate jurisdiction throughout the Province.

Court of King's Bench (R.S.M. 1940, c. 44).—The Court consists of a chief justice, who is known as the Chief Justice of the King's Bench, and four other judges. All judges are appointed by the Governor General. The Court has unlimited original jurisdiction throughout the Province in civil and criminal cases.

County Courts (R.S.M. 1940, c. 42).—The Province is divided into six judicial districts and a number of County Courts are established for each district. A judge is appointed by the Governor General for each district and he is the judge of all the County Courts within the district. There are five judges for the Eastern Judicial District and the other districts each have one judge. The Court has criminal jurisdiction and also jurisdiction generally in claims not exceeding \$800 but has no jurisdiction in certain types of actions such as recovery of land.

Surrogate Court (R.S.M. 1940, c. 45).—There is a Surrogate Court for each judicial district and the Surrogate Courts Act provides that the County Court judge in each judicial district is to be the judge of the Surrogate Court of that district. The Court has jurisdiction and authority in relation to testamentary matters.

Juvenile Court (R.S.M. 1940, c. 32).—The Juvenile Courts are established under the Child Welfare Act and the territorial jurisdiction of each Court is set out in the Order in Council establishing the Court and appointing the judges. There are two judges for Winnipeg, one for Brandon, and one for Dauphin. In addition, there are 22 deputy judges. The Courts have power to deal with cases involving children under the Child Welfare Act and other provincial statutes and are also Juvenile Courts for the purposes of the Dominion Juvenile Delinquents Act.

Police Magistrates (R.S.M. 1940, c. 125).—Police magistrates are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor and in addition to criminal jurisdiction they have jurisdiction to try actions for debt where the amount does not exceed \$100. An appeal lies to the judge of a County Court. There are 40 police magistrates in the Province.

Justices of the Peace (R.S.M. 1940, c. 125).—Justices of the peace are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. They have limited criminal jurisdiction and also small debt jurisdiction up to 100.

Saskatchewan.—Court of Appeal (R.S.S. 1940, c. 60).—The Court of Appeal consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of Saskatchewan, and four other judges. All judges are appointed by the Governor General. The Court has general appellate jurisdiction throughout the Province.